This would protect Google from sharing unwanted files with users.
Google’s hosting service is convenient in many ways. Just think about storing or editing your files. However, its real strength lies not in these but in the fact that multiple users can work on a given file simultaneously. All you have to do is share the file: in the uploaded file, enter the e-mail address of the person you want to work with, and the document will appear, for example.
This simplicity makes Drive much easier to use but also makes it a bit dangerous. They may send unsolicited content or a virus to someone. And even if you delete that file from your own Drive, it may reappear in the results of a search.
Google indicated back in May that it was working to eliminate this spamming method. The work eventually became a feature that Google makes available to all users. As a result, users will soon be able to be blocked in Drive.
All you have to do is right-click on the file and select the menu item that allows you to block it. This will basically result in three things:
- will block the user so you will not be able to share any content with us in the future,
- removes all files and folders shared by the user with us, and
- revokes the rights to other files that the user holds (even if we have previously given them to us).
All this allows us to cut ourselves off from users who send (harass) unwanted content in one go.
The feature is promised by Google to all users soon.